Lutsenko powers to solo victory at the Vuelta as Froome keeps red jersey

Alexey Lutsenko vuelta stage 5

Alexey Lutsenko (Astana) proved the strongest of a 17-man group to stake biggest win of his career at the Ermita Santa Lucia, in Stage 5 of La Vuelta.

Froome crossed the line in 14th place in the wheel of Alberto Contador some four and half minutes after Lutsenko.

Three riders had started the day just two seconds behind Froome but all lost time.

Tejay van Garderen moved up to second at 10 seconds after coming in just eight seconds behind Froome while Colombian Esteban Chaves is third at 11sec after crossing the line alongside the British leader.

But former winners Vincenzo Nibali and Fabio Aru both lost time to now sit sixth and seventh respectively at 36sec and 49sec. David De La Cruz started the day second but dropped to fifth at 23sec.

Despite winning a fourth Tour just over a month ago, Froome showed no signs of tiredness as his Sky team set the pace on the steep run-in to the finish, allowing him to gain time on many overall rivals.

“I think if you had said at the beginning of the stage this would be the situation at the finish, I would have definitely have signed to agree to that,” admitted Froome.

“Looking at the time gaps now, the general classification is definitely taking a bit more shape.

“I’m really glad to have come through from the Tour in the shape that I hoped to be in for the start of the Vuelta.”

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 5 results (Benicàssim – Alcossebre):

1Alexey Lutsenko (Astana)


2Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data)


3Marc Soler (Movistar)


4Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates)


5Alexis Gougeard (AG2R)


6Marco Haller (Katusha-Alpecin)


7Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


8Jetse Bol (Manzana Postobon)


9Matvey Mamykin (Katusha-Alpecin)


10Jérémy Maison (FDJ)


11Michel Kreder (Aqua Blue Sport)


12Davide Villella (Cannondale-Drapac)


13Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


14Chris Froome (Team Sky)


15Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


16Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


17Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


18Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


19Nicolas Roche (BMC)


20Fabio Aru (Astana)


General classification after stage 5:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


3Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


4Nicolas Roche (BMC)


5David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


6Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


7Fabio Aru (Astana)


8Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


9Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


10Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


11Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


12Romain Bardet (AG2R)


13Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


14Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


15Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


16Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


17Igor Anton (Dimension Data)


18Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)


19Wout Poels (Team Sky)


20Jetse Bol (Manzana Postobon)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here