Luis Leon Sanchez delivers for Astana in GP Beghelli

Luis Leon Sanchez gp bruno beghelli 2017

Luis Leon Sanchez has taken the victory at the Gran Premio Bruno Beghelli after the Astana rider escaped from the peloton with 5 kilometres to go and crossed the finish line on his own.

Simone Bernardini (Sangemini Mg K Vis), Pavel Brutt (Gazprom Rusvelo), Sebastian Lander (GM Europa Ovini) and Mattia Viel (Unieuro Trevigiani) were part of the 4-man breakaway of the day, which established over 6-minute lead.

They were brought back in early, with 62km to go and that sparked new attacks. Despite many attempts no one was able to go clear for a long time. Eventually, a winning move was made inside final 10km of racing when Louis Leon Sanchez (Astana) pulled away solo. He held off chasers and secured a victory.

Sonny Colbrelli (Behrain-Merida)  was the fastest from the bunch, which came in 5 seconds behind the winner. Elia Viviani (Team Sky) rounded out the podium.

Gran Premio Bruno Beghelli 2017 results:

1Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


2Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida)


3Elia Viviani (Team Sky)


4Michael Albasini (Orica-Scott)


5Alberto Bettiol (Cannondale-Drapac)


6Andrea Pasqualon (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)


7Marco Canola (Nippo – Vini Fantini)


8Julien Simon (Cofidis)


9Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)


10Jérémy Roy (FDJ)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here