Koen Bouwman denies sprinters to claim stage 3 in Dauphine

Koen Bouwman dauphine 2017

Koen Bouwman (LottoNL-Jumbo) has won the 3rd stage of the Criterium du Dauphine. The Dutchman has got the better of Evaldas Siskevicius (Delko Marseille Provence KTM)  in a sprint of six after an early breakaway.

Thomas de Gendt held onto the leader’s yellow jersey ahead of Wednesday’s 23.5km time-trial, which should see a major shake-up in the overall standings.

Three-time winner Chris Froome will expect to move into yellow jersey contention ahead of a weekend where the overall winner will be decided on summit finishes at Alpe d’Huez and Plateau de Solaison.

And Froome said gaining time on his overall rivals, such as Romain Bardet and Alberto Contador, would make a major difference for the rest of the race.

“It’s going to be a huge dynamic of the race here. Whoever gets time tomorrow (Wednesday) in terms of the GC (overall) battle won’t necessarily have to go on the offensive in the following days,” said Froome.

“It’s an important milestone in this week’s race, but it’s also an important test in terms of the Tour de France.

“We’ve got a very similar kind of prologue in Dusseldorf, and a similar time trial in Marseille at the end of the Tour. It’s good practice and a good hit out ahead of that.”

Criterium du Dauphine 2017 – stage 3 results (Le Chambon-sur-Lignon – Tullins):

1 Koen Bouwman (LottoNl-Jumbo)


2 Evaldas Siskevicius (Delko Marseille Provence KTM)


3 Frederik Backaert (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)


4 Bryan Nauleau (Direct Energie)


5 Alexey Vermeulen (LottoNl-Jumbo)


6 Quentin Pacher (Delko Marseille Provence KTM)


7 Arnaud Demare (FDJ)


8 Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie)


9 Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe)


10 Phil Bauhaus (Team Sunweb)



General classification after stage 3:

1 Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)


2 Axel Domont (AG2R)


3 Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


4 Pierre Latour (AG2R)


5 Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


6 Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida)


7 Ben Swift (UAE Team Emirates)


8 Alberto Bettiol (Cannondale-Drapac)


9 Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


10 Julien Simon (Cofidis)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here