Groenewegen wins stage 5 in Valencia, Izagirre takes overall victory

Ion Izagirre wins Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2019

Ion Izagirre (Astana) claimed victory at the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana on Sunday as Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma) won the fifth and final stage.

Groenewegen of Jumbo-Visma pipped Alexander Kristoff in the bunch sprint while Matteo Trentin, who won the second stage, took third.

Often compared to Britain’s Mark Cavendish it was the first win of the season for the man who sprinted to success twice during the Tour de France last season.

But Astana’s Izagirre triumphed overall on Sunday, coming in seven seconds ahead of his closest rival and fellow Spaniard Alejandro Valverde to secure his first success of the season.

“It’s been a while without winning, without having this feeling and this taste in my mouth,” Izagirre said.

“It’s what I crave and what I wanted most. We have started the season in the best possible way, with a victory for me and for the team.”

A sprint finish was expected at the end of a brisk 88-kilometre stage, with Izagirre and Valverde both avoiding a cluster of riders that crashed with less than a kilometre to go.

Pello Bilbao, also of Astana, completed an all-Spanish podium by coming third overall, 16 seconds ahead of Dan Martin.

Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2019 – stage 5 results (Paterna – Valencia):

1Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma)


2Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates)


3Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)


4Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


5Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis)


6Michele Gazzoli (Kometa Cycling Team)


7Sondre Enger (Israel Cycling Academy)


8Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida)


9Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


10Giovanni Lonardi (Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane)



Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2019 – final general classification:

1Ion Izagirre (Astana)


2Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3Pello Bilbao (Astana)


4Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


5Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida)


6Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


7Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


8Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


9Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


10Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here