Froome seals Giro d’Italia title as Nieve claims penultimate stage

Mikel Nieve wins stage 20 giro d'italia 2018

Chris Froome (Team Sky) esealed victory in the Giro d’Italia on Saturday by holding Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) in check up the final climb of the race.

The four-time Tour de France champion takes a 40-second lead over Tom Dumoulin into Sunday’s mostly ceremonial finish in Rome and is poised to win his third consecutive Grand Tour, matching the achievements of cycling greats Eddy Merckx and Bernard Hinault.

Dumoulin attacked Froome multiple times on the finishing climb of the 214-kilometer leg from Susa to Cervinia but in five attempts wasn’t able to gain any ground. After Dumoulin’s fifth attack, Froome responded with an acceleration of his own and dropped Dumoulin briefly.

Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott) won the stage with a long, solo breakaway to celebrate his 34th birthday.

The concluding stage is a flat 115-kilometer leg of 10 laps around a circuit through the center of Rome.

“Obviously there were attacks that I had to follow in the finale but I felt very much in control and very capable of following today,” said Froome. “I think everyone had such a hard day yesterday that I think nobody really had the extra legs to go anywhere.”

“This Giro has been brutal, absolutely brutal,” he added. “When someone tends to have a bad here it’s not just a matter of 30 seconds or one minute, it’s 10, 15 minutes. It’s a brutal race.”

Giro d’Italia 2018 – stage 20 results (Susa – Cervinia):

1Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo)


3Felix Grossschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Giulio Ciccone (Bardiani-CSF)


5Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo)


6Wout Poels (Team Sky)


7Chris Froome (Team Sky)


8Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


9Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


10Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


11Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


12Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


13Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


14George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo)


15Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


16Pello Bilbao (Astana)


17Alexandre Geniez (AG2R La Mondiale)


18Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


19Hubert DupontĀ (AG2R La Mondiale)


20Sergio Henao (Team Sky)



General classification after stage 20:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


3Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


4Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


5Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


6Pello Bilbao (Astana)


7Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


8George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo)


9Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


10Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


11Alexandre Geniez (AG2R La Mondiale)


12Wout Poels (Team Sky)


13Sergio Henao (Team Sky)


14Jose Goncalves (Katusha-Alpecin)


15Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


16Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


17Rohan Dennis (BMC)


18Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


19Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo)


20Michael Woods (EF Education First-Drapac)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here