Florian Sénéchal lands maiden pro victory at Le Samyn

Florian Senechal wins Le Samyn 2019

Florian Sénéchal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) has nabbed his first pro win at a highly-entertaining edition of Le Samyn.

The race was nearly won by his teammate, Tim Declerq, who countered an attack with two kilometres remaining and looked, briefly, to have a winning gap.

Roompot-Charles pulled it all back together for Lars Boom, and in doing so pulled Sénéchal back to the front of the race. The sprint came down to Sénéchal, Aimé De Gendt (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), and an isolated Niki Terpstra (Direct Energie), and Sénéchal was clearly the fastest.

“In previous years I did too much too early but this time I really waited for the finale. My teammates worked all day and I owe them a lot. We really worked well. In the end, I had a good sprint, I felt strong, even if Lars Boom was also strong. But he went too early, and I came back,” Sénéchal said.

“Terpstra was really strong. I knew he’s a shrewd rider and was waiting for the finale – Boom as well. I attacked on the final sector and the three of us went clear – the three strongest. Then it came back and Tim did an amazing job.

You can rewatch Le Samyn 2019 HERE.

Le Samyn 2019 results (Quaregnon – Dour):

1Florian Senechal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Aime De Gendt (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


3Niki Terpstra (Direct Energie)


4Lars Boom (Roompot-Charles)


5Pieter Serry (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


6Stijn Vandenbergh (AG2R La Mondiale)


7Tim Declercq (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


8Elmar Reinders (Roompot-Charles)


9Jesper Asselman (Roompot-Charles)


10Remy Mertz (Lotto Soudal)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here