Ewan makes it a hat-trick of wins at the Tour of Britain

Caleb Ewan tour of britain 2017 stage 6

Caleb Ewan had claimed an impressive third stage victory at the Tour of Britain with a convincing sprint on today’s stage six.

Orica-Scott worked for the majority of the stage, leading the peloton to control the distance to a breakaway of seven riders that escaped in the early stages of the 186kilometre stage.

In the final, lead-out duo Roger Kluge and Luka Mezgec worked to get the young Australian into a good position and after the final corner, Ewan launched from out of the wheels, established a gap and held on until the line for the victory.

“It was another pretty tough day again, not really straight forward as the weather was pretty bad all day,” Ewan said. “The team rode so well, we stayed up near the front out of trouble all day and the guys again did a prefect job at the end.”

“There was a bit of sketchy moment in the final corner and I had to go early. I had a little bit of a gap coming out of the corner but everybody was coming back into positions so I took the chance to jump.

“It was a little bit earlier than I wanted to go but I wanted to get into my aero position and hold as much speed as possible so it is great to hold on and get another stage win here.

“Tomorrow is going to be pretty tough but the last stage could be a bunch sprint again.”

Tour of Britain 2017 – stage 6 results (Newmarket – Aldeburgh):

1Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott)


2Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors)


3Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNl-Jumbo)


4Alexander Kristoff (Katusha-Alpecin)


5Andrea Pasqualon (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)


6Brenton Jones (JLT Condor)


7Enzo Wouters (Lotto Soudal)


8Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


9Patrick Bevin (Cannondale-Drapac)


10Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


General classification after stage 6:

1Lars Boom (LottoNl-Jumbo)


2Victor Campenaerts (LottoNl-Jumbo)


3Vasil Kiryienka (Team Sky)


4Stefan Kung (BMC)


5Jos Van Emden (LottoNl-Jumbo)


6Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin)


7Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


8Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


9Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


10Ryan Mullen (Cannondale-Drapac)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here