Home News Enrico Barbin nabs stage 6 win in Tour de Langkawi

Enrico Barbin nabs stage 6 win in Tour de Langkawi

Enrico Barbin

Enrico Barbin (Bardiani CSF) sprinted to victory in the sixth stage of the Tour de Langkawi. 

Enrico Barbin opened his professional account at the 2017 Le Tour de Langkawi as he claimed his first victory at the age of 26 in Muar. He outsprinted Australia’s Anthony Giacoppo of IsoWhey Sports Swisswellness and his compatriot Filippo Pozzato from Wilier Triestina to deliver Bardiani CSF’s first win of the year and their first stage victory at LTdL since Marco Canola won solo in Kuantan in 2012.

“It’s an honour for me to become part of this history”, Barbin declared. “I was feeling well and my whole team too [his team-mate Lorenzo Rota was up the road for most of the stage along with Colombia’s Wilmar Paredes and Hong Kong’s Ronald Yeung who was awarded the daily prize of most combative rider]. I’m not fast enough to beat the fastest sprinters here but I took advantage of them. Through the radio, we had perfect explanation of the finale and where the wind was blowing from so it was a question of getting the best position over the bridge and anticipate the sprint with 300 metres to go.”

Tour de Langkawi 2017 – stage 6 results (Senawang – Muar):

1Enrico Barbin (Bardiani CSF)4:09:16
2Anthony Giacoppo (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness)


3Filippo Pozzato (Wilier Triestina)


4Andrea Palini (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec)


5Marco Maronese (Bardiani CSF)


6Marco Benfatto (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec)


7Riccardo Stacchiotti (Nippo – Vini Fantini)


8Paolo Simion (Bardiani CSF)


9Daniel Jaramillo (UnitedHealthCare)


10Mohd Zamri Saleh (Terengganu)



General classification after stage 6:

1Ryan Gibbons (Dimension Data)


2Cameron Bayly (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness)


3Alberto Cecchin (Wilier Triestina)


4Mekseb Debesay (Dimension Data)


5Chris Harper (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness)


6Daniel Jaramillo (UnitedHealthCare)


7Egan Bernal (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec)


8Timothy Roe (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness)


9Ben O’Connor (Dimension Data)


10Fernando Orjuela (Manzana Postobon)