Dumoulin wins third national time trial title; Kwiatkowski succeeds Bodnar in Poland

Tom Dumoulin giro 2017

A perfect ride led Tom Dumoulin to extend his national title today, as the Giro d’Italia winner charged to victory at the Dutch national time trial championships.

Dumoulin set out to regain his title in Montferland today with a 50 kilometre course that suited his strengths well. After a strong start Dumoulin rebounded from a six second deficit that was clocked at the first intermediate checkpoint. By the next clock-stop, he had taken back seven seconds to put him into the lead by one second. It came down to a showdown between two which saw Dumoulin continue with his famous time trialling power to ride to the Dutch time trial victory for the third time in his professional career. He stopped the clock at 59 minutes and seven seconds, securing the title by 24 seconds.

“I’m really happy to take the win once again,” said Dumoulin after the race. “The parcours suited me well and although the heat made things quite challenging, I managed to cope with the conditions well. Dealing with the mental and physical aspects of the past few weeks have gone pretty well and have been much easier than I had anticipated. It’s great to be able to wear the jersey for another year.”

1Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


2Stef Clement (LottoNl-Jumbo)


3Robert Gesink (LottoNl-Jumbo)



In Poland, Michal Kwiatkowski powered to an emphatic victory. The Team Sky rider set a searing pace across the 39.6-kilometre course in Krokowa, with a winning time of 49 minutes and 42 seconds. That margin proved to be 1:15 quicker than Marcin Bialoblocki (CCC Sprandi Polkowice), with defending champion Maciej Bodnar (Bora-hansgrohe) an extra 16 seconds back.

It’s the second time Kwiatkowski has taken an elite national TT title, after success in 2014.

“Today was one of my best days ever on a bike,” said a happy Kwiatkowski after the time trial. “I felt very strong from the start, despite it beginning uphill and with a headwind. I had great support from my family and (Team Sky carer) Marek Sawicki.”

1Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


2Marcin Bialoblocki (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


3Maciej Bodnar (BORA – hansgrohe)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here