Demare secures overall victory at the Tour de Wallonie with final stage win


Arnaud Demare sprinted to victory in the final stage of the Tour de Wallonie after pipping Philippe Gilbert to the line and defended the yellow jersey.

The Groupama-FDJ sprinter headed into the final stage with a 16-second lead over Amaury Capiot and James Fouche, with a host of riders including Greg van Avermaet a second further back.

The break was caught on the final climb and with under 10km remaining it was Jhonatan Narvaez (Team Ineos) who went solo in pursuit of victory. However, the Ecuadorian was eventually caught with just 500m to go, and it was Demare who had enough in his legs to overtake Gilbert and seal the overall victory in style.

Greg Van Avermaet (CCC) finished in third to end up second in the GC overall.

Tour de Wallonie 2020 – stage 4 results (Blegny – Erezée):

1Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


2Philippe Gilbert (Lotto Soudal)


3Greg Van Avermaet (CCC)


4Clement Venturini (AG2R la Mondiale)


5Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal)


6Amaury Capiot (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)


7Florian Senechal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


8Andrea Vendrame (AG2R la Mondiale)


9Romain Hardy (Arkea-Samsic)


10Bryan Coquard (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)


Tour de Wallonie 2020 – final general classification:

1Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


2Greg Van Avermaet (CCC)


3Amaury Capiot (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)


4Florian Senechal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


5Clement Venturini (AG2R la Mondiale)


6Andrea Vendrame (AG2R la Mondiale)


7Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal)


8Jhonatan Narvaez (Team Ineos)


9Romain Hardy (Arkea-Samsic)


10Oliver Naesen (AG2R la Mondiale)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here