Danny van Poppel sprints to victory in Valenciana’s opening stage

Danny Van Poppel volta comunitat valenciana 2018

Danny van Poppel has won the first stage of the 2018 Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana. Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott) was second, and Jurgen Roelandts (BMC Racing) was third in Peñiscola.

After what had been a relatively straightforward 191.4-kilometre test the action came to a head in Peniscola, with Ganni Moscon (Team Sky) launching a surprise attack with two kilometres to go.

A crash behind caused momentary confusion in the peloton and it was only the lead-out train of LottoNL-Jumbo that eventually hauled back the Italian inside the final kilometre.

Even though he launched his sprint early, Danny van Poppel (LottoNL-Jumbo) claimed the opening stage victory and moved into an early race lead.


Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2018 – stage 1 results (Oropesa El Mar – Peñiscola):

1 Danny van Poppel (LottoNL-Jumbo)


2 Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


3 Jurgen Roelandts (BMC)


4 Daniel McLay (EF Education First-Drapac)


5 Clement Venturini (AG2R La Mondiale)


6 Hugo Hofstetter (Cofidis)


7 Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


8 Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)


9 Marco Canola (Nippo-Vini Fantini-Europa Ovini)


10 Angelo Tulik (Direct Energie)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here