Contador goes out in style on Angliru as Froome secures first Vuelta title

Alberto Contador angliru stage 20 vuelta 2017

(AP) – Chris Froome effectively sealed his first Vuelta title after maintaining the overall lead on the final competitive stage of the grand tour on Saturday.

Froome increased his advantage over Vincenzo Nibali through the rainy 117.5-kilometer mountainous ride in stage 20 from Corvera de Asturias to a grueling summit finish at the Alto de l’Angliru.

Froome has finished the Vuelta as runner-up on three occasions. He came in behind Juanjo Cobo in 2011, Alberto Contador in 2014 and Nairo Quintana last year.

Barring a mishap or accident on Sunday’s ceremonial arrival in Madrid, Froome will become only the third rider to complete the Tour-Vuelta double in the same season. Jacques Anquetil (1963) and Bernard Hinault (1978) achieved the feat when the Vuelta was still held in the spring before the Tour.

Alberto Contador, who will retire after the race, won Saturday’s stage with an attack from distance to put a fine finish to his career that has included seven grand tour wins, including three Vuelta titles.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 20 results (Corvera de Asturias – Alto de L’Angliru):

1Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


2Wout Poels (Team Sky)


3Chris Froome (Team Sky)


4Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


5Franco Pellizotti (Bahrain Merida)


6Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


7Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


8Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


9Romain Bardet (AG2R)


10Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


11Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


12Mike Nieve (Team Sky)


13Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)


14Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


15Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


16Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


17Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors)


18Marc Soler (Movistar)


19Diego Rosa (Team Sky)


20Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)



General classification after stage 20:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


3Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


4Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


5Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


6Wout Poels (Team Sky)


7Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


8Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


9Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


10Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


11Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


12Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


13Fabio Aru (Astana)


14Nicolas Roche (BMC)


15Sergio Padilla (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


16Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


17Romain Bardet (AG2R)


18Daniel Moreno (Movistar)


19Sander Armee (Lotto Soudal)


20Darwin Atapuma (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here