Chris Froome wins stage nine to extend Vuelta a Espana lead

Chris Froome vuelta 2017 stage 9

Chris Froome has extended his lead in the Vuelta a Espana after winning stage nine on the Cumbre del Sol.

Froome attacked with 500 metres to go and held off Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott) and Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac) to win the stage. The four-time Tour de France winner now has a 36-second lead over Chaves.

“That was incredible today,” Froome said. “It’s such a good feeling to get to the end of this first block with the red jersey and also a decent gap on the rest of the GC riders.”

Froome, aiming to become only the third man to win the Tour and Vuelta in the same year, is beginning to amass a significant advantage over the rest of his general classification rivals.

Vincenzo Nibali was 14 seconds back on the stage to fall 1min 17secs behind Froome in fourth with Fabio Aru a further 16 seconds back in seventh overall.

Froome took advantage of Sky not having to drive the pace in the peloton as they have for many of the early stages as Woods’ Cannondale team ensured an early 10-man breakaway never built up the time gap needed to claim the stage win.

The race favourites remained together for the first three kilometres up the ascent to the finish line before Froome burst clear.

Chaves and Woods momentarily bridged the gap, but Froome wasn’t to be denied the stage win he failed to get despite winning his fourth Tour de France last month.

“He looked back and I say again he is really an unbelievable rider. You can see why he has won the Tour de France four times,” said Chaves.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 9 results (Orihuela – Cumbre del Sol):

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


3Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


4Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


5Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


6Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


7David de la Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


8Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


9Nicolas Roche (BMC)


10Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


11Fabio Aru (Astana)


12Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


13Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


14Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)


15Antonio Pedrero (Movistar)


16Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


17Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


18Wout Poels (Team Sky)


19Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


20Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


General classification after stage 9:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


3Nicolas Roche (BMC)


4Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


5Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


6David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


7Fabio Aru (Astana)


8Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


9Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


10Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


11Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


12Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


13Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


14Wout Poels (Team Sky)


15Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


16Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


17Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


18Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


19Nelson Oliveira (Movistar)


20Jetse Bol (Manzana Postobon)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here