Cavagna wins stage 19 as Roglic survives another crazy day in Vuelta


Remi Cavagna took a brilliant solo victory on stage 19 of the Vuelta a Espana as Primoz Roglic maintained his grip on the leader’s red jersey despite crashing.

The 165km ride from Avila to Toledo was pockmarked by rain and intense crosswinds, leading to a heavy crash involving multiple riders, including Roglic and fourth-placed Miguel Angel Lopez on a descent just past the 100km mark.

Roglic and Lopez both came off their bikes, while Roglic’s team mate Tony Martin was forced to abandon due to injuries suffered in the collision.

Team Movistar, containing second-placed Alejandro Valverde and third overall Nairo Quintana, attacked moments later, much to the annoyance of the peloton.

Team Ineos’s Owain Doull told Eurosport: “It depends if they were riding out ahead beforehand – if they weren’t then that was shocking.

“It’s not like they did it for a few kilometres and then sat up, it was pretty divided for a while. If I were Roglic and Jumbo I wouldn’t be happy. I’m not happy and it had nothing to do with me.”

Movistar’s sporting director Jose Luis Arrieta told Spanish television that the team had always planned to attack after that descent and accused the UCI of dictating that Roglic and Lopez be allowed to join the main group by moving in the slipstream of team cars, something which is not usually permitted.

In just his second grand tour, Cavagna claimed a first-ever stage win after riding away from the breakaway with 24km to go. He finished five seconds ahead of the chasing peloton, who caught the rest of the break with just over one kilometre of the cobbled uphill finish remaining.

Roglic leads Valverde by two minutes and 47 seconds with tomorrow’s 190km mountain stage – containing five climbs – from Arenas de San Pedro to Plataforma de Gredos realistically the world champion’s final chance to claw back time on the Slovenian.

Vuelta a Espana 2019 – stage 19 results (Ávila – Toledo):

1Rémi Cavagna (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


4Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


5Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


6Tosh Van Der Sande (Lotto Soudal)


7Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida)


8Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


9Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


10Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


11Damien Touze (Cofidis)


12Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


13Dion Smith (Mitchelton-Scott)


14Dorian Godon (AG2R La Mondiale)


15Alexander Aranburu (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


16Jonas Koch (CCC)


17Clement Venturini (AG2R La Mondiale)


18Carl Fredrik Hagen (Lotto Soudal)


19Ruben Guerreiro (Katusha-Alpecin)


20Nairo Quintana (Movistar)



Vuelta a Espana 2019 – general classification after stage 19:

1Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


4Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


5Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


6Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


8Carl Fredrik Hagen (Lotto Soudal)


9James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


10Marc Soler (Movistar)


11Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


12Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


13Dylan Teuns (Bahrian-Merida)


14Sergio Higuita (EF Education First)


15Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain-Merida)


16Ion Izagirre (Astana)


17Ruben Guerreiro (Katusha-Alpecin)


18Nicolas Edet (Cofidis)


19Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


20Kilian Frankiny (Groupama-FDJ)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here