Castroviejo and Roglič share the spoils in Volta ao Algarve time trial

Jonathan Castroviejo

Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar) got the better of world time trial champion Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin) in the stage 3 individual time trial at Volta ao Algarve. Primož Roglič (LottoNL-Jumbo) took the overall lead after a third place in the stage.

The Basque allrounder claimed success over a flat, windy course suiting heavier competitors. Castroviejo, fourth quickest through the first intermediate point (5km), maintained a constant pace over the parcours that held off the final charge by Martin.

The Volta ao Algarve will now tackle its longest stage tomorrow, 203km to Tavira with the sprinters chasing another success, before the race decider up the Alto do Malhao on Sunday. That’s the very same climb whose descent saw Castroviejo getting badly injured into a crash against a spectator, which kept him four months out of racing.

“It’s so special for me to come back to this race, after everything that happened for me last season, and be a protagonist again. As well yesterday as today I could be up there with the top guns, and claiming this victory is a marvellous feeling for me. I couldn’t be more proud of what I achieved on this TT.

“It’s been so rewarding, beating the rivals I managed to leave behind today. I was within the top four at all time trials I took part last season, claimed the European title, a medal in the Worlds… but winning here in the beginning of the season, against such big names, is even a step above for me. Also, my performance yesterday on a mountain finish was quite good, which gives me lots of motivation to keep chasing these one-week stageraces.

Volta ao Algarve 2017 – stage 3 results (Sagres ITT):

1 Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar)


2 Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin)


3 Primož Roglič (LottoNL-Jumbo)


4 Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


5 Lars Boom (LottoNl-Jumbo)


6 Arnaud Demare (FDJ)


7 Alex Dowsett (Movistar)


8 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


9 Nélson Oliveira (Movistar)


10 Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


General classification after stage 3:

1 Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo)


2 Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


3 Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar)


4 Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


5 Luis León Sanchez (Astana)


6 Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


7 Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin)


8 Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


9 Amaro Antunes (W52/FC Porto)


10 Rinaldo Nocentini (Sporting / Tavira)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here