Caleb Ewan sprints to victory in stage 8 of the Giro


Caleb Ewan claimed his second career win on the Giro d’Italia when he prevailed in the eighth stage, a 239-km ride from Tortorelo Lido on Saturday.

The Lotto Soudal rider, a stage winner in 2017, was perfectly positioned after a tight curve 200 meters from the line and beat Italian champion Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) in a short sprint.

Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe), who leads the points classification, took third place.

“I have a lot of pressure to win races (since his move from Michelton-Scott) and to win here means the absolute world to me,” said Ewan, who had finished in the top five on three occasions in the first seven stages of this year’s Giro.

The day was marked by two powerful rollers launching a sustained long-range break from the opening minutes with Marco Frapporti and Damiano Cima spending 200km out in front.

The diminutive Ewan’s new team had spent much of the day keeping tabs on their long range escape however, signalling their intent and the powerfully built Sydneysider was overcome with emotion after several near misses so far.

“We have been trying to win every day, and I’m happy to repay the team,” said the visibly relieved Ewan. “I wasn’t feeling that good, so I waited and had a good kick and came round them (Akermann and Viviani).”

Sunday’s stage could prove to be key with a 34.8km individual time-trial awaiting the riders with poor weather and undulating terrain expected on the road to San Marino.

Providing an extra twist Sunday will be a 6.5 percent incline over one of the final sections, a potential foretaste of the mountainous sections which have been packed in to the latter part of the Giro.

Giro d’Italia 2019 – stage 8 results (Tortoreto Lido – Pesaro):

1Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)


2Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


3Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Fabio Sabatini (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


5Manuel Belletti (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


6Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


7Davide Cimolai (Israel Cycling Academy)


8Marco Canola (Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane)


9Giacomo Nizzolo (Dimension Data)


10Rüdiger Selig (Bora-hansgrohe)


11José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


12Valerio Agnoli (Bahrain-Merida)


13Paul Martens (Jumbo-Visma)


14Michael Gogl (Trek-Segafredo)


15Andrey Zeits (Astana)


16Amaro Antunes (CCC)


17Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


18Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


19Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


20Richard Carapaz (Movistar)



Giro d’Italia 2019 – general classification after stage 8:

1Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


2José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


3Giovanni Carboni (Bardiani-CSF)


4Nans Peters (AG2R La Mondiale)


5Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)


6Amaro Antunes (CCC)


7Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


8Pieter Serry (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9Andrey Amador (Movistar)


10Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


11Pello Bilbao (Astana)


12Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


13Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


14Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale)


15Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


16Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


17Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


18Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


19Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


20Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here