Caleb Ewan conquers Hatta Dam to claim UAE Tour stage four

Caleb Ewan wins stage 4 UAE Tour 2019

Caleb Ewan celebrated his first win in the colours of Lotto Soudal by taking Stage 4 of the UAE Tour atop Hatta Dam.

With previous stage winner Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) frantically trying to regain touch with the front following a multi-rider crash inside the final seven kilometres, Ewan pounced to profit from the Spaniard’s malaise.

Ewan powered to victory, taking the stage four win ahead of Matteo Moschetti (Trek-Segafredo) and overall leader Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma).

“I thought I would win more of a typical bunch sprint to start with, but I knew coming into the stage, with all the fast sprinter here, that this might be my best opportunity to take a stage win because of the uphill finish,” Ewan said of his first win with Lotto Soudal.

“My team did well to protect me all day. It was a pretty tough stage even before the final climb. I was right where I needed to be on that last right-hand turn, and I still felt good coming up the climb. I started my sprint when I needed to, and luckily I held on.

“I watched the video of previous years a few times. In the videos, you don’t really see how steep it is. When I started sprinting I could really feel it – had to click down a few gears to keep on top of it, but I felt good and could really keep the power until the end.”

You can rewatch Stage 4 from UAE Tour HERE.

UAE Tour 2019 – stage 4 results (Palm Jumeirah – Hatta Dam):

1 Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)


2 Matteo Moschetti (Trek-Segafredo)


3 Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


4 Quentin Jauregui (AG2R La Mondiale)


5 Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


6 Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


7 Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


8 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


9 Marco Haller (Katusha-Alpecin)


10 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


UAE Tour 2019 – general classification after stage 4:

1 Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3 David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


4 Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


5 Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


6 Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


7 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


8 Victor De La Parte (CCC)


9 James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


10 Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here