Belgium announce formidable squad for Bergen Worlds

Philippe Gilbert

Belgian national team coach Kevin de Weert has announced the final selection for the upcoming World Championships in Bergen.

Olympic champion Greg Van Avermaet and former World Champion Philippe Gilbert will lead the team in Norway.

A notable absence is Sep Vanmarcke, who told Sporza that he had expected to form part of the selection but was considered “one free role too many” by the coach.

“I had hoped to be included. I had a good summer and things went especially well in the last weeks. In Plouay, for example, I could anticipated all the attacks and ended up with a nice fourth place between all the sprinters’ violence. So I’m a bit surprised by the omission.

“After a bad sprint I wanted to peak in the summer and autumn, but this is a big set-back. The World Championships were definitely on my mind and me not being there is a deception. This way my last goal of the season just disappears.”

Full Belgian squad for the 2017 World Championships

Road race

Tiesj Benoot (Lotto-Soudal)
Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)
Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Scott)
Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)
Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)
Dylan Teuns (BMC)
Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)
Julien Vermote (Quick-Step Floors)
Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal)

Time trial

Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors)
Victor Campenaerts (LottoNl-Jumbo)
Laurens De Plus (Quick-Step Floors)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here