Home Grand Tours Bauke Mollema wins his first-ever Tour de France stage

Bauke Mollema wins his first-ever Tour de France stage

Bauke Mollema tour de france 2017

Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) survived a punishing route to win his first-ever Tour de France stage.

The Dutchman jumped away from the breakaway group of the day 31 kms from the finish to claim a solo victory ahead of Diego Ulissi and Tony Gallopin.

Chris Froome (Team Sky) bounced back a mechanical failure to pursue Romain Bardet (AG2R) and hold on to the yellow jersey ahead of Fabio Aru (Astana).

Froome was first caught at the end of a split caused by AG2R-La Mondiale, who continued to press the pedals when the race leader suffered a mechanical problem shortly before the key climb of the day.

The Team Sky leader kept his cool, however, and powered his way back to stay on top of the general classification with an 18-second advantage over Italian Fabio Aru.

Bardet, who enjoyed huge crowd support in his home region in the Massif Central, stays third 23 seconds off the pace. Rigoberto Uran is fourth six seconds further back.


Tour de France 2017 – stage 15 results (Laissac-Sévérac l’Église – Le Puy-en-Velay):

1Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


2Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


3Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


4Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo)


5Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


6Nicolas Roche (BMC)


7Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie)


8Jan Bakelants (AG2R)


9Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


10Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data)


11Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


12Damiano Caruso (BMC)


13Daniel Navarro (Cofidis)


14Luc-Pierre Perichon (Fortuneo-Oscaro)


15Amael Moinard (BMC)


16Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


17Maurits Lammertink (Katusha-Alpecin)


18Luis Angel Mate (Cofidis)


19Romain Hardy (Fortuneo-Oscaro)


20Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin)



General classification after stage 15:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Fabio Aru (Astana)


3Romain Bardet (AG2R)


4Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


5Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


6Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


7Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


8Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


9Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


10Damiano Caruso (BMC)


11Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


12George Bennett (LottoNl-Jumbo)


13Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


14Pierre Latour (AG2R)


15Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


16Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


17Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


18Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


19Brice Feillu (Fortuneo-Oscaro)


20Guillaume Martin (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)