Arndt survives rain in Vuelta a Espana to snatch stage 8 win


Nikias Arndt survived a late downpour and treacherous conditions to snatch victory in stage 8 of the Vuelta a Espana as Nicolas Edet took over as overall leader.

Arndt was a part of the main breakaway and as the rain hammered down came through late to claim the victory in Igualada, near Barcelona, at the end of a 166.9 kilometre ride from Vals.

In the final sprint, the German edged out Alex Aranburu (Caja Rural), who finished second, and third-placed Tosh van der Sande (Lotto Soudal).

“I always said I wanted to win a stage and now I have won at the Vuelta,” said Arndt, who also won a stage of the Giro d’Italia three years ago.

Frenchman Edet, who was the best climber at the Vuelta in 2013, took advantage of a general apathy among the favourites to finish nine minutes ahead of the peloton and so take the red jersey from Miguel Angel Lopez.

Sunday’s ninth stage in Andorra will be brutal with five categorised climbs in less than 100 kilometres and an off-road section close to the finish.

Vuelta a Espana 2019 Рstage 8 results (Valls РIgualada):

1Nikias Arndt (Team Sunweb)


2Alexander Aranburu (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


3Tosh Van Der Sande (Lotto Soudal)


4Ruben Guerreiro (Katusha-Alpecin)


5Jonas Koch (CCC)


6Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida)


7Jonathan Lastra (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


8Tobias Ludvigsson (Groupama-FDJ)


9Fernando Barcelo (Euskadi-Murias)


10Sergio Henao (UAE Team Emirates)


11Nicolas Edet (Cofidis)


12Peter Stetina (Trek-Segafredo)


13Carl Fredrik Hagen (Lotto Soudal)


14Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


15David de la Cruz (Team Ineos)


16Martijn Tusveld (Team Sunweb)


17Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


18Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


19Jorge Arcas (Movistar)


20Nicholas Dlamini (Dimension Data)



Vuelta a Espana 2019 Рgeneral classification after stage 8:

1Nicolas Edet (Cofidis)


2Dylan Teuns (Bahrian-Merida)


3Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


4Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


5Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


6Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


7Carl Fredrik Hagen (Lotto Soudal)


8Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


9Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


10Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


11George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


12Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


13Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates)


14Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


15Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


16Oscar Rodriguez (Euskadi-Murias)


17Peter Stetina (Trek-Segafredo)


18Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain-Merida)


19Sergio Higuita (EF Education First)


20David de la Cruz (Team Ineos)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here