Alaphilippe time trials to stage win and leader’s jersey in San Juan

Julian Alaphilippe wins stage 3 Vuelta San Juan 2019

Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) doubled up at the Vuelta a San Juan after blitzing the 12km-long out-and-back course in Pocito, where the peloton returned 48 hours after completing stage 1.

Alaphilippe covered the course in 13:41. Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates) was second, 12 seconds slower while young Belgian sensation Remco Evenepool finished on the same time as Conti, third behind his French teammate.

“I always want to win and to be at a top level, it’s my mentality and that of the team. I knew the time trial wasn’t going to be easy, but I had precious info from Remco, who completed the stage before me, and this helped me as I rode full gas. I came here very motivated, but the victory surprised me, just like the one of yesterday”, said Alaphilippe after picking up his 20th pro win.

“It’s true that I now have the leader’s jersey, but there are many riders who can do something on Alto del Colorado, which will be the decisive stage. For my part, I will continue to take it one step at a time and ride without pressure, just as I have done until now”.

Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – stage 3 results (Chimbas – Peri Lago Punta Negra):

1Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


2Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


3Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


4Felix Grobschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Winner Anacona (Movistar)


6Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


7Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Tom Bohli (UAE Team Emirates)


9Laureano Rosas (Asociacon Civil Mardan)


10Oscar Sevilla (Medellin)



Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – general classification after stage 3:

1Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


2Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


3Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


4Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


5Felix Grobschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Winner Anacona (Movistar)


7Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Laureano Rosas (Asociacon Civil Mardan)


9Oscar Sevilla (Medellin)


10Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here