Home News Quintana crowned king of Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana queen stage

Quintana crowned king of Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana queen stage

Nairo Quintana

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) has won in impressive fashion the queen stage of Volta a la Comunidad Valenciana after he attacked right at the foot of the final climb of the day, up the extremely steep Mas de la Costa.

He came into the decisive day of the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana with a 54” deficit against the GC leader, a gap seemingly unsurmountable in only four kilometers of definitive climbing, yet Saturday brought a pure exhibition by Quintana in the Mas de la Costa ascent, one of the most amazing display in his career to take over the leader’s jersey..

Quintana attacked right from the bottom of the ascent, initially followed by Amaro Antunes (W52-FC Porto) and Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data). The Portuguese rider was soon dropped back, with the Eritrean still keeping Quintana’s wheel for just over one kilometer before losing sight of the Colombian’s wheel. A very steady pace ended up bringing him the 32nd victory of his career, 40″ ahead of Kudus and 1’07” over Ben Hermans (BMC)..

“Today’s development of things was almost exactly what we were planning before the stage. We’re still testing out how my body is responding this early in the season, and it all went really smoothly today. I was going well through the steepest parts of the climb – it really is a good sign before more important points of the season, and it helps us to understand how we should train from now on. It’s a very happy and special victory in my birthday, of course – it’s one I want to dedicate to my family (my wife, my little daughter) and my friend Adriano. He’s always on our minds when we race, and we miss him so much here.”, said Quintana.

Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2017 – stage 4 results (Segorbe – Llucena):

1Nairo Quintana (Movistar)5:02:03
2Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data)


3Amaro Antunes (W52-FC Porto-Porto Canal)


4 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


5Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo)


6Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


7Ben Hermans (BMC)


8Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


9Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


10Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


General classification after stage 4:

1Nairo Quintana (Movistar)14:20:16
2Ben Hermans (BMC)


3Manuel Senni (BMC)


4Wout Poels (Team Sky)


5Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


6Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


7David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


8Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data)


9Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


10Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar)