Home News Van Avermaet claims first career Monument victory in Paris-Roubaix

Van Avermaet claims first career Monument victory in Paris-Roubaix

Greg Van Avermaet

Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) claimed his first career victory in a Monument after he outsprinted Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors) and Sebastian Langeveld (Cannondale-Drapac)  in the Roubaix velodrome.

On a day that Tom Boonen was bidding to bow out of the sport with a record fifth Paris-Roubaix title, it was his compatriot van Avermaet who became the 40th Belgian to win the Queen of the Classics.

With five riders in contention on the final lap entering the velodrome in Roubaix, Stybar launched a blistering attack. But the Belgian rider countered it brilliantly, going on the outside of the Czech rider and streaking past him in the last 10 meters. Dutchman Sebastian Langeveld finished third.

Van Avermaet screamed with joy, while Stybar thumped his handlebar in frustration. After dismounting, Van Avermaet rushed over to hug his BMC teammate Daniel Oss, who had ridden hard in front to put him in a winning position.

“It feels really good. I suffered a lot, but when you win you forget everything. I was just really strong in the end,” Van Avermaet said. “This race is right up there among the classics. After many years, I’ve managed to win it.”


🚩⏪ Revivez le dernier kilomètre haletant de ce #ParisRoubaix ! 🚴💨

🚩⏪ Relive the suspenseful last kilometer of this #ParisRoubaix ! 🚴💨

Posted by Paris-Roubaix on Sunday, April 9, 2017

Paris-Roubaix 2017 results:

1Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


2Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors)


3Sebastian Langeveld (Cannondale-Drapac)


4Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


5Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)


6Arnaud Demare (FDJ)


7Andre Greipel (Lotto Soudal)


8Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo)


9Adrien Petit (Direct Energie)


10John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo)