UAE Team Emirates announces leaders for Grand Tours


As the 2020 calendar takes shape UAE Team Emirates has announced the core riders to make-up the three Grand Tours.

Fabio Aru and Tadej Pogacar will lead the team at the Tour de France. Fernando Gaviria will focus on stage wins at the Giro d’Italia, while Americans Brandon McNulty and Joe Dombrowski will focus on the overall classification.

Tour de France: Fabio Aru (Ita), Tadej Pogačar (Slo), Davide Formolo (Ita), David De la Cruz (Esp), Alexander Kristoff (Nor).

Giro d’Italia: Fernando Gaviria (Col), Maximiliano Richeze (Arg), Sebastian Molano (Col), Brandon McNulty (USA), Joe Dombrowski (USA), Valerio Conti (Ita), Diego Ulissi (Ita).

Vuelta España: David De la Cruz (Esp), Davide Formolo (Ita), Fabio Aru (Ita), Jasper Philipsen (Bel), Rui Costa (Por).

“We are cautious but also optimistic. The solidarity within the team has been a great asset throughout this period and we aim to carry that forward as we move back to racing. A huge amount of work has been done by the team behind the scenes along with the help of our sponsors to ensure a viable safety protocol for when the racing returns”, said team Principal Mauro Gianetti.

“The prospect of racing again soon is an exciting one for the team, the sponsors and also for the fans. The riders themselves are more motivated than ever with this new calendar.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here