Tim Wellens takes solo win at GP de Wallonie

Tim Wellens stage 6 binck bank tour 2017

Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) has won the 2017 GP de Wallonie, finishing solo ahead of teammate Tony Gallopin.

The Belgian race was a quiet one until the final 50 kilometers, when the seven escapees who took off at the start were caught by the peloton, which soon split to pieces in the strong crosswinds. The front group was a pretty large one and not all the riders showed they were willing to pull in order to ensure a hefty gap, so it didn’t came as a surprise that some of them attacked on Côte de Lustin and forced a new selection.

From the newly-formed group of eight men, Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal) attacked on the penultimate climb and soloed to victory on the famous Citadel of Namur, where he arrived with more than a minute’s advantage over teammate Tony Gallopin and Julien Simon (Cofidis).


Grand Prix de Wallonie 2017 results:

1 Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


2 Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


3 Julien Simon (Cofidis)


4 Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


5 Jan Bakelants (AG2R)


6 Dylan Teuns (BMC)


7 Jelle Vanendert (Lotto Soudal)


8 Gianluca Brambilla (Quick-Step Floors)


9 Bjorg Lambrecht (Belgium)


10 Loic Vliegen (BMC)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here