Sivakov claims Tour of Poland victory as Mohoric wins final stage


Pavel Sivakov (Team Ineos) survived a flurry of attacks to claim overall victory at the Tour of Poland on the seventh and final stage, won by Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida).

Overnight leader Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) was dropped with around 45 kilometers still to go, and Sivakov finished with the main GC group on the day to take the victory.

Neilson Powless (Jumbo-Visma) finished second on the stage, 55 seconds behind Mohoric, Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafrredo) was third, with Tsgabu Grmay (Mitchelton-Scott) and Paweł Polkanski (Bora-hansgrohe) rounding out the top five.

The runner-up in the general classification was Jai Hindley (Team Sunweb), two seconds behind Sivakov. Rounding off the podium was Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates), 12 seconds back.

“It’s a big win for Pavel. He’s going to be super happy”, said Team Ineos DS Gabriel Rasch. “The first five days were stages where you had to just get to the finish without losing time. Plus we were able to have a go at the sprints with Swifty. Then these last two stages were completely GC focused. They were really hard but good stages for us.

Tour of Poland 2019 – stage 7 results (Bukovina Resort – Bukowina Tatrzańska):

1Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida)


2Neilson Powless (Jumbo-Visma)


3Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo)


4Tsgabu Grmay (Mitchelton-Scott)


5Pawel Poljanski (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Daniel Navarro (Katusha-Alpecin)


7Kilian Frankiny (Groupama-FDJ)


8Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


9Sergio Higuita (EF Education First)


10Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)



Tour of Poland 2019 – final general classification:

1Pavel Sivakov (Team Ineos)


2Jai Hindley (Team Sunweb)


3Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


4Sergio Higuita (EF Education First)


5Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Ineos


6Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


7Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Christopher Hamilton (Team Sunweb)


9Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


10James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here