Simon Yates solos to GP Miguel Indurain success

Simon Yates

Simon Yates (Orica-Scott) has won the 19th Gran Premio Miguel Indurain after 186km in the saddle.  The British rider got the better of Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac) and Sergio Henao (Team Sky).

The 24-year-old launched away from a reduced front group at a perfect moment with 10kilometres to go and impressively worked to increase his advantage until the finish line, to take his second victory of the season.

“It was a hard race today, at the start with the wind and the rain but the team rode really well, protecting me at all times,” Yates said after his victory. “Roman Kreuziger went into the main break which was great for us, it meant we could sit in the wheels and save energy.”

“On the climbs the guys were always there and we made it a hard race so I am extremely happy to win today.

“Next I have Pais Vasco and I hope I can ride well there and maybe get another victory, I am looking forward to it.”

GP Miguel Indurain 2017 results:

1Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


2Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


3Sergio Henao (Team Sky)


4Carlos Verona (Orica-Scott)


5Marc Soler (Movistar)


6Vasil Kiryienka (Team Sky)


7Ruben Fernandez (Movistar)


8Gorka Izzagirre (Movistar)


9Damien Howson (Orica-Scott)


10Toms Skujins (Cannondale-Drapac)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here