Silvan Dillier takes stage six win in dramatic finish at the Giro d’Italia

Silvan Dillier

Silvan Dillier (BMC) won from an early breakaway the sixth stage of the Giro d’Italia, while Bob Jungels finished comfortably in the top ten to retain his six-second lead over Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) in the general classification.

Dillier began his sprint with 150 meters to go on the climb to the finish and had the power to hold off Jasper Stuyven, who banged his bars in anger and frustration as he crossed the line half a wheel behind the Swiss cyclist.

Lukas Postlberger, who won the opening stage, was third, 12 seconds behind the front two at the end of the 217-kilometer (135-mile) route from Reggio Calabria to Terme Luigiane as the race moved to mainland Italy.

“Basically the stage started pretty bad for me. I had a flat tire at KM 0.”, said Dillier. “I chased back and I could go straight away in the breakaway. At the end, it was pretty hard to stay away. To beat Jasper Stuyven in a sprint like this is crazy. I still can’t believe this. I know the harder the race, the better it is for me. The final was really hard and Jasper Stuyven is a really strong rider. I had some concerns about him. To win a stage against him is crazy. It feels great.”

Giro d’Italia 2017 – stage 6 results (Reggio Calabria – Terme Luigiane):

1Silvan Dillier (BMC)


2Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


3Lukas Pöstlberger (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Simone Andreetta (Bardiani CSF)


5Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


6Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


7Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


8Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


9Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


10Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


11Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


12Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


13Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


14Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


15Andrey Amador (Movistar)


16Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


17Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


18Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


19Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


20Dylan Teuns (BMC)



General classification after stage 6:

1Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


2Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


3Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


4Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


5Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


6Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


7Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


8Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


9Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


10Andrey Amador (Movistar)


11Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


12Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


13Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


14Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


15Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


16Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


17Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


18Tanel Kangert (Astana)


19Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


20Simone Petilli (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here