Sergio Higuita seals overall victory at Tour Colombia

Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling) held off the challenge of Egan Bernal on Sunday to win 2020 Tour Colombia.

Higuita’s teammate Daniel Martinez won the mountainous 182.6km stage from Zipaquira to a mountaintop finish on El Verjon on the last stage.

Higuita, who started the day in the leader’s orange jersey, was second in the same time. Egan Bernal was third, three seconds back.

The 22-year-old Higuita also beat Bernal to win the Colombian road title at the start of February.

“I’m really very happy because this is the first general classification I’ve ever won in my life,” Higuita said.

Martinez was second overall, with Ecuadorian Jonathan Caicedo in third. Bernal finished fourth overall, 55 seconds behind the winner.

Bernal and Richard Carapaz tried to attack on the final climb but Higuita clung to their wheels before attacking with Martinez.

Tour Colombia 2020 – stage 6 results (Zipaquirá – El Once/Alto del Verjón):

1 Daniel Martinez (EF Pro Cycling)


2 Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling)


3 Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)


4 Miguel Florez (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


5 Jonathan Caicedo (EF Pro Cycling)


6 Robinson Chalapud (Team Medellin)


7 Hernan Aguirre (Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW Bicicletas)


8 Diego Camargo (Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW Bicicletas)


9 Freddy Montaña (EPM-Scott)


10 Esteban Chaves (Colombia-Andina)



Tour Colombia 2020 – final general classification:

1 Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling)


2 Daniel Martinez (EF Pro Cycling)


3 Jonathan Caicedo (EF Pro Cycling)


4 Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)


5 Miguel Florez (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


6 Freddy Montaña (EPM-Scott)


7 Esteban Chaves (Colombia-Andina)


8 Hernan Aguirre (Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW Bicicletas)


9 Torstein Træen (Nor) Uno-X


10 Sergio Henao (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here