Schachmann snatches Tour of the Basque Country lead with opening time trial win

Maximilian Schachmann wins stage 1 Tour of the Basque Country 2019

Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe) took the victory in the opening time trial of the 2019 Tour of the Basque Country.

Schachmann topped Daniel Martinez (EF Education First) and Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) by 9 and 10 seconds, respectively.

“I don’t know what to say, it’s my third victory this year,” Schachmann said. “Many time trials I’ve been in front, and I’ve never won. It’s a special victory for me. It was a very hard time trial. I don’t know how I did it. There were a lot of strong guys like Kwiatkowski. I’m speechless.”

Other GC contenders finished in top 10, with Michał Kwiatkowksi (Team Sky) in third, Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) in fourth and Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) rounding out the top-five.

Tour of the Basque Country 2019 – stage 1 results (Zumarraga – Zumarraga ITT):

1Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Daniel Martinez (EF Education First)


3Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


4Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


5Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


6Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Ion Izagirre (Astana)


8Enric Mas (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


10Hugh Carthy (EF Education First)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here