Schachmann extends Basque Country lead with his third stage victory

Schachmann extends Basque Country lead with his third stage victory

Maximilian Schachmann consolidated his overall lead in the Tour of the Basque Country on Thursday by claiming his third stage victory in four days.

The Bora-Hansgrohe rider broke away three kilometres from the finish with a group of four before edging out Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) and Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) in the sprint.

After falling in a nasty crash on Wednesday, Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) and Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) were both unable to start.

Schachmann’s win means the 25-year-old extends his advantage in the overall standings to 51 seconds, with Patrick Konrad second and Ion Izagirre in third.

“I knew it was possible to win again but to do it is really special,” Schachmann said. “It was very difficult during the climb and I had to dig really deep.

“In the downhill, it was Pogacar I think, he went so fast and I was at my limit. On two corners I really felt the tyres slipping but I handled it and in the end I was in the perfect position to launch a good sprint.”

The race continues on Friday with the fifth stage, a 149.8km route between Arrigorriaga to Arrate.

Tour of the Basque Country 2019 – stage 4 results (Vitoria-Gasteiz – Arrigorriaga):

1Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Tadej Pogaar (UAE Team Emirates)


3Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


4Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


5Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb)


6Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Ion Izagirre (Astana)


9Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)


10Bjorg Lambrecht (Lotto Soudal)



Tour of the Basque Country 2019 – general classification after stage 4:

1Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Ion Izagirre (Astana)


4Daniel Martinez (EF Education First)


5Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


6Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


8Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida)


9Mikel Landa (Movistar)


10Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here