Sam Bennett sprints to stage 3 win at Tour de Wallonie


Sam Bennett won stage 3 at the Tour de Wallonie after he came out on top ahead of Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ) and John Degenkolb (Lotto-Soudal) in a dramatic sprint finish.

Zdenek Stybar (Deceunink-Quick-Step), Greg Van Avermaet (CCC), Jonathan Narvaez (Team Ineos) and Loic Vliegen (Circus Wanty) looked to have pulled away with 10k to go but the peloton caught them in the last kilometre and Bennett crossed the line first.

“After yesterday I needed that. The springs came out yesterday and I just had nothing. Today was a big difference,” Bennett said.

“We just said we’d ride aggressively, and I’d just float around, because I knew my form must be there some place but I didn’t know if it’d come back today, so I just rode my own race until the last climb, and the boys did a great job in the finale today. With the positioning and the lead-out, the whole team rode a fantastic race and I’m really proud to finish off the job today.”

Tour de Wallonie 2020 – stage 3 results (Montzen – Visé):

1Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


3John Degenkolb (Lotto Soudal)


4Matteo Trentin (CCC)


5Amaury Capiot (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)


6Andrea Vendrame (AG2R la Mondiale)


7Marco Haller (Bahrain McLaren)


8Alexander Krieger (Alpecin-Fenix)


9Baptiste Planckaert (Bingoal WB)


10Clement Venturini (AG2R la Mondiale)


Tour de Wallonie 2020 – general classification after stage 3:

1Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


2Amaury Capiot (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)


3James Fouche (Hagens Berman Axeon)


4Clement Venturini (AG2R la Mondiale)


5Oliver Naesen (AG2R la Mondiale)


6Greg Van Avermaet (CCC)


7Jenthe Biermans (Israel Start-Up Nation)


8Lawrence Naesen (AG2R la Mondiale)


9Loïc Vliegen (Circus-Wanty Gobert)


10Nick Van der Lijke (Riwal Readynez)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here