Sagan keeps yellow, Danny Van Poppel wins stage five in Tour of Poland

Danny Van Poppel

Danny Van Poppel (Team Sky) proved quickest in the bunch gallop at the end of stage five of the Tour of Poland on Wednesday, blazing home ahead of Luka Mezgec (Orica-Scott) and Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe).

Sagan keeps the race lead, ending the day 14 seconds clear of stage 3 winner Dylan Teuns (BMC). His own teammate Rafal Majka is a further six seconds back in third.

“That was the key point – the leadout. It was a really hard stage with a climb on the finishing circuit and I felt really good today so I was there, and I think the whole team was still there with me. The guys did a great job”, said Van Poppel.

“Obviously we’ve already done some leadouts so I trust the guys 100%. We took the lead early and even Wout did a great pull. Everyone was really impressive. Michal and Lukasz did a great job and all I had to do was my own sprint. That was enough.”

Tour of Poland 2017 – stage 5 results (Olimp Nagawczyna – Rzeszów):

1Danny Van Poppel (Team Sky)


2Luka Mezgec (Orica-Scott)


3Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Roberto Ferrari (UAE Team Emirates)


5Enrico Battaglin (LottoNl-Jumbo)


6Niccolo Bonifazio (Bahrain Merida)


7Daniel Oss (BMC)


8Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


9Tomasz Marczynski (Lotto Soudal)


10Lukasz Wisniowski (Team Sky)



General classification after stage 5:

1Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Dylan Teuns (BMC)


3Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


5Odd Christian Eiking (FDJ)


6Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


7Wout Poels (Team Sky)


8Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


9Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


10Gorka Izagirre (Movistar)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here