Sagan holds off Matthews to win stage three at the Tour de France

Peter Sagan tour de france 2017

World champion Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) won the third stage of the Tour de France, a 212.5-km ride from Verviers in Belgium.

Even though he ejected from his right pedal in the midst of the sprint, Peter Sagan pulled off a stage victory in the Tour de France Monday. Bora-Hansgrohe’s world champion kept his cool, clipped back in and finished the sprint, holding off Michael Matthews. The Sunweb rider was closing fast and passed Olympic champ Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) in the last 100 meters.

The 50 points for winning also put him into contention to claim the sprinters’ green jersey. He has won that in each of the last five years, although he had only once before failed to claim the jersey by the third stage.

Geraint Thomas kept the yellow jersey. However, BMC’s Richie Porte was sure to test his rivals on the final climb, accelerating up the steep hill to the finish in Longwy, France.

Tour de France 2017 – stage 3 results (Verviers – Longwy):

1Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


3Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


4Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


5Alberto Bettiol (Cannondale-Drapac)


6Arnaud Demare (FDJ)


7Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


8Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


9Chris Froome (Team Sky)


10Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


11Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


12Romain Bardet (AG2R)


13Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


14Richie Porte (BMC)


15Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


16Guillaume Martin (Wanty – Groupe Gobert))


17Fabio Aru (Astana)


18Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


19Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


20Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)



General classification after stage 3:

1Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


2Chris Froome (Team Sky)


3Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


4Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


6Pierre Latour (AG2R)


7Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


8Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


9Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


10Nikias Arndt (Team Sunweb)


11Alexey Lutsenko (Astana)


12Stefan Küng (BMC)


13Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


14Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


15Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


16Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


17Arnaud Demare (FDJ)


18Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


19Daryl Impey (Orica-Scott)


20Richie Porte (BMC)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here