Rohan Dennis captures Tour de Suisse prologue win

Rohan Dennis

Rohan Dennis (BMC) won the prologue of the Tour de Suisse with a masterful time trial performance. 

As Dennis flew off the ramp he was chasing the early benchmark set by Ryan Mullen (Cannondale – Drapac Pro Cycling Team) of 6’37” and out on the course, he didn’t hold anything back.

The current Australian national time trial champion showed why he is known as one of the best time trialists in the world when he crossed the line in time of 6’24” to secure the stage win and the leader’s yellow jersey.

“To be leading the race in my first race back, especially a UCI WorldTour race, is quite special. I’ve been struggling a bit in training since I had to pull out of the Giro d’Italia but I think today was just my day”, said Dennis.

“I was a little bit mentally knocked down after the Giro d’Italia. It was a massive goal for me this year. I put a lot of work into it, even from July last year, or August after the Rio Olympics. In the end, things like that happen. I had to move on and try to rebuild. Training hasn’t been going too well so today was a little bit of a surprise. Once you get out there you do what you have to do and hope for the best.”

Tour de Suisse 2017 – prologue results:

1 Rohan Dennis (BMC)


2 Stefan Kung (BMC)


3 Matthias Brändle (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


5 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


6 Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar)


7 Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo)


8 Ryan Mullen (Cannondale-Drapac)


9 Steven Lammertink (LottoNL-Jumbo)


10 Martin Elmiger (BMC)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here