Roglic snatches overall Tirreno-Adriatico win by one second

Primoz Roglic wins 2019 Tirreno Adriatico

Adam Yates was unable to hold off Primoz Roglic as victory on the Tirreno-Adriatico slipped from his grasp by a single second on Tuesday.

The Mitchelton-Scott rider began the 10km time trial – the seventh and final stage of the race – with a 25-second buffer over Roglic (Jumbo-Visma).

But Roglic, who in 2017 became the first Slovenian to win a Tour de France stage, claimed victory in the overall standings by just one second.

“It was unbelievably close. I was lucky in the end,” Roglic said. I really pushed until the finish line. I was confident but I can only control myself.”

It was a disappointing end for Yates, who had been the overall leader since Mitchelton-Scott won the team time trial.

“It was a hard TT. I’ve done this TT many times and I always lose a chunk of time and it was close but it wasn’t enough,” Yates, the last man to ride the course, said. “That’s how it goes, that’s bike racing.”

Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) finished third overall, 30 seconds behind Roglic.

Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal) took stage glory in the European time trial champion’s jersey, beating Alberto Bettiol (EF Education First) and Jos van Emden (Jumbo-Visma)

Tirreno-Adriatico 2019 – stage 7 results (San Benedetto del Tronto ITT):

1Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Lotto Soudal


2Alberto Bettiol (EF Education First)


3Jos van Emden (Jumbo-Visma)


4Sebastian Langeveld (EF Education First)


5Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


6Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo)


7Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


8Rohan Dennis (Bahrain-Merida)


9Michael Hepburn (Mitchelton-Scott)


10Filippo Ganna (Team Sky)



Tirreno-Adriatico 2019 – final general classification:

1Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


3Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


4Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


5Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


6Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


7Wout Poels (Team Sky)


8Simon Clarke (EF Education First)


9Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


10Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here