Pogacar triumphs in the mountains as Quintana captures Vuelta’s red jersey


Nairo Quintana captured the red jersey in the Vuelta a Espana on Sunday after coming second in stage 9 as Tadej Pogacar won the short and punishing blast through the mountains in Andorra.

Pogacar, riding in his first Grand Tour, held his own with the Movistar trio of Quintana and Spaniards Alejandro Valverde and Marc Soler before launching an attack with three km to go up the final ascent in heavy rain.

The 20-year-old finished 23 seconds ahead of 2016 champion Quintana on the summit of Cortals d’Encamp after the 94.4km stage which began in Andorra la Vella.

Pogacar’s compatriot Primoz Roglic meanwhile staged an impressive recovery to come third, 48 seconds down, after being left to fight on his own as his Jumbo-Visma team mates badly struggled.

Roglic’s efforts saw him climb into second place overall, six seconds behind Quintana.

Miguel Angel Lopez finished one minute one second back in ninth after a crash in the stage’s gravel section but the collision did not prove too costly to his hopes of winning the Vuelta as he is third overall, 17 seconds off Quintana.

Monday is the first of two rest days, with the race re-starting on Tuesday with a 36-km individual time trial from Jurancon to Pau.

Vuelta a Espana 2019 – stage 9 results (Andorra la Vella – Cortals d’Encamp):

1Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


2Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


4Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


5Marc Soler (Movistar)


6Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain-Merida)


7Sergio Higuita (EF Education First)


8Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


9Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


10Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Ineos)


11Carl Fredrik Hagen (Lotto Soudal)


12Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


13Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


14Ion Izagirre (Astana)


15Mikel Bizkarra (Euskadi-Murias)


16Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma)


17Geoffrey Bouchard (AG2R La Mondiale)


18James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


19Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


20Kilian Frankiny (Groupama-FDJ)



Vuelta a Espana 2019 – general classification after stage 9:

1Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


2Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


3Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


4Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


5Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


6Carl Fredrik Hagen (Lotto Soudal)


7Nicolas Edet (Cofidis)


8Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


9Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


10Dylan Teuns (Bahrian-Merida)


11Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


12Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain-Merida)


13Sergio Higuita (EF Education First)


14Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


15George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


16Ion Izagirre (Astana)


17Oscar Rodriguez (Euskadi-Murias)


18Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


19Ruben Guerreiro (Katusha-Alpecin)


20Marc Soler (Movistar)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here