Peter Sagan closes in on Tour Down Under lead with stage 3 win

Peter Sagan Luis Leon Sanchez Tour Down Under 2019 stage 4

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) held off Luis Leon Sanchez  (Astana) and Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) to win stage three and close in on the overall lead of Tour Down Under.

The Bora-Hansgrohe rider repeated his victory in last year’s corresponding stage in Uraidla, edging out Sanchez on the line in the 146.2-kilometre leg through the Adelaide Hills in South Australia.

Sagan closed to within one point of overall tour leader Patrick Bevin (CCC).

Sagan said his experience racing on the same roads last year helped him in the closing stages.

“I won by a little bit but I won and I am very happy with that,” he said.

“On the last climb, I said, ‘It’s going to be the same as last year again.’ In the end it was like copy paper.

“My Bora-Hansgrohe team worked hard to keep me on the front and take care of me. In the end I had a lot of energy for the last lap and it was really under control.”

Sanchez is in third place overall a further nine seconds behind, with Michael Storer fourth (10 seconds) and defending champion Impey fifth (11 seconds).

Tour Down Under 2019 – stage 4 results (Lobethal – Uraidla):

1Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


3Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott)


4Danny van Poppel (Jumbo-Visma)


5Patrick Bevin (CCC)


6Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


7Ruben Guerreiro (Katusha-Alpecin)


8Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


9Chris Hamilton (Team Sunweb)


10Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)



Tour Down Under 2019 – general classification after stage 3:

1Patrick Bevin (CCC)


2Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


4Michael Storer (Team Sunweb)


5Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott)


6Danny van Poppel (Jumbo-Visma)


7Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


8Ryan Gibbons (Dimension Data)


9Chris Hamilton (Team Sunweb)


10George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here