Miguel Angel Lopez seals second stage victory at the Vuelta, Froome keeps lead

Miguel Angel Lopez vuelta 2017

Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) won the 15th stage of the Vuelta on Sunday, while Chris Froome tacked a few seconds onto his overall lead.


A late surge by Froome over the final meters of the punishing ride over two category one and a final special-category ascent allowed him to increase the gap over Vincenzo Nibali from 55 seconds to 1:01.

Lopez attacked with Alberto Contador near the start of the stage’s last climb. Lopez then set off on his own to pass breakaway rider Adam Yates and surge to the summit finish at Alto Hoya de la Mora.

Ilnur Zakarin attacked in the final kilometre to take second 36 seconds back with Wilco Kelderman snatching third a further nine seconds behind.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 15 results (Alcala La Real – Alto Hoya de la Mora):

1Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


2Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


3Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


4Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


5Chris Froome (Team Sky)


6Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


7Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


8Wout Poels (Team Sky)


9Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


10Pello Bilbao (Astana)


11Fabio Aru (Astana)


12Romain Bardet (AG2R)


13Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


14Darwin Atapuma (UAE Team Emirates)


15Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


16Antonio Pedrero (Movistar)


17Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


18Daniel Moreno (Movistar)


19Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)


20Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)



General classification after stage 14:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


3Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


4Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


5Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


6Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


7Fabio Aru (Astana)


8Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


9Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


10Wout Poels (Team Sky)


11David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


12Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


13Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


14Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


15Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


16Sergio Padilla (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


17Nicolas Roche (BMC)


18Daniel Moreno (Movistar)


19Romain Bardet (AG2R)


20Darwin Atapuma (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here