Michael Matthews powers to Bretagne Classic victory


Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) won the the 84th edition of Bretagne Classic. Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott) and Florian Senechal (Deceuninck-Quickstep) finished second and third respectively.

In rain-slicked roads, the race was filled with attacks but it came down to a sprint finish from a small group.

Matthews’ teammate Nils Eekhoff appeared to be in position to take the win in the final sprint, but eased to allow Matthews to claim the victory.

“Luca had to go early in the sprint so I could wait. I just timed my sprint to perfection, I guess,” Matthews said at the finish.

“After my crash in Milan-San Remo it was difficult for my head. I knew that I had really good shape but to come back here, for my second race after lockdown, I’m really happy.”

Bretagne Classic 2020 results:

1Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


2Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


3Florian Senechal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


4Aime De Gendt (Circus-Wanty Gobert)


5Alessandro Fedeli (Nippo Delko Provence)


6Quinn Simmons (Trek-Segafredo)


7Nils Eekhoff (Team Sunweb)


8Daniel McLay (Arkea-Samsic)


9Anthony Roux (Groupama-FDJ)


10Ivan Garcia Cortina (Bahrain McLaren)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here