Marczynski takes his second win in La Vuelta as Chris Froome crashes

Tomasz Marczynski vuelta 2017 stage 12

Tomasz Marczynski (Lotto Soudal) claimed his second stage victory in the 2017 Vuelta a Espana on Thursday, while Chris Froome suffered a difficult day, crashing near the end of the stage.

Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) attacked on the last climb of the day. Edward Theuns joined Contador to help him on the way to the finish line.

Chris Froome (Team Sky) had a mechanical problem followed by a fall without any serious consequences, but with a substantial loss of time.

Froome’s Sky teammates Mikel Nieve and Wout Poels helped him limit the damage, but he couldn’t bridge the gap back to the Nibali group. The race leader lost lost 42 seconds to Contador and 20 to the other favourites, keeping the red jersey for another day.

“It’s never nice to lose time, but I have a fantastic team around me. I had two teammates with me all the way to the end,” added Froome.

“The Vuelta is not over yet and there are a lot of big days ahead.

“The race is not over until we reach Madrid. I just need to be at my best every day now.”

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 12 results (Motril – Antequera Los Dólmenes):

1 Tomasz Marczynski (Lotto Soudal)


2 Omar Fraile (Dimension Data)


3 Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


4 Pawel Poljanski (Bora-hansgrohe)


5 Stef Clement (LottoNl-Jumbo)


6 Brendan Canty (Cannondale-Drapac)


7 Anthony Perez (Cofidis)


8 Jan Poland (UAE Team Emirates)


9 Andreas Schillinger (Bora-hansgrohe)


10 David Arroyo (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


11 Peter Koning (Aqua Blue Sport)


12 Julien Duval (AG2R)


13 Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


14 Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


15 Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


16 David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


17 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


18 Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


19 Nicolas Roche (BMC)


20 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)



General classification after stage 12:

1 Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


3 Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


4 David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


5 Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


6 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


7 Fabio Aru (Astana)


8 Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


9 Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


10 Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


11 Nicolas Roche (BMC)


12 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


13 Sam Women (Team Sunweb)


14 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


15 Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


16 Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


17 Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


18 Sergio Pardilla (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


19 Igor Anton (Dimension Data)


20 Darwin Atapuma (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here