Marczynski bags first Grand Tour win as Contador blows apart Vuelta

Tomasz Marczynski vuelta 2017

Thomas Marczynski (Lotto-Soudal) won stage six of the Vuelta a Espana from the breakaway, as Chris Froome (Team Sky) withstood a day of five categorised climbs and counter-attacks to maintain the overall race lead.

Marczynski edged out compatriot Pawel Poljanski (Bora-hansgrohe) and  Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors) on the line to claim the 204.4km stage from Vila Real to Sagunto.

On the last climb of the day, Alberto Contador accelerated and subsequently blew the race to pieces as he linked up with Pantano up the road. On the steep gradients, Contador managed to drop some rivals but was unable to drop Froome.

As the red jersey group closed the gap to the breakaway, Fabio Aru (Astana) managed to regain contact with Froome alongside Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott) and Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrian-Merida) who had found themselves in difficulty on the climb.

Marczynski, 33, has been Polish champion twice as well as winning the 2015 Tour du Maroc and added a grand tour stage win to those achievements by edging compatriot Pawel Poljanski and Spaniard Enric Mas to the finish line in a three-man sprint.

“I came here really wanting to win a stage and to do it so soon is amazing,” Marczynski told reporters.

“The last ascent, we climbed really fast. We got to the final with two and then a few others came into town. Then we were all looking at each other, but I said, ‘I’m not going to let any attack go without me. If I don’t have enough strength in the final, so be it, but I’m going to give it my all’.

“Since I’d been in the breakaway all day, I had to take advantage of the opportunity. It all worked out in the end.”

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 6 results (Vila-Real – Sagunt):

1Tomasz Marczynski (Lotto Soudal)


2Pawel Poljanski (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors)


4Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


5Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


6Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


7Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain Merida)


8Chris Froome (Team Sky)


9Fabrio Aru (Astana)


10Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)


11Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


12Nicolas Roche (BMC)


13Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


14Wout Poels (Team Sky)


15Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


16Ricardo Vilela (Manzana Postobon)


17Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


18Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


19Daniel Navarro (Cofidis)


20Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)



General classification after stage 6:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


3Nicolas Roche (BMC)


4Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


5Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


6David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


7Fabio Aru (Astana)


8Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


9Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


10Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


11Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


12Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


13Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


14Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


15Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)


16Wout Poels (Team Sky)


17Igor Anton (Dimension Data)


18Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


19Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


20Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here