Kristoff takes fourth victory in a row at Eschborn-Frankfurt

Alexander Kristoff wins Eschborn-Frankfurt

Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) claimed his fourth straight Eschborn-Frankfurt title on Tuesday with Matthews (Team Sunweb) beaten into second and Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale) edging out third.

Fernando Gaviria launched the sprint first, several hundred meters from the line but he was then swallowed up by the other fast finishers.

Kristoff hit the front with some 150 meters to go and held off Matthews to defend his title and take his first one-day victory of 2018.

“I was lucky because Gaviria went wrong in the last corner,” Kristoff said. “He had a small gap so it would have been hard to close. Luck was on my side and in the end, I managed to take it so I’m really happy.”

“I did not really feel strong,” Kristoff admitted. “On the second lap I was dropped, but luckily I managed to recover and got better. The last two times I felt better and managed to stay in the group.”

Eschborn-Frankfurt 2018 results:

1Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates)


2Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


3Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)


4Andrea Pasqualon (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


5Sean De Bie (Veranda’s Willems Crelan)


6Grega Bole (Bahrain-Merida)


7Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


9Jan Tratnik (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


10Juan Jose Lobato (Nippo-Vini Fantini)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here