Jumbo-Visma take Tour de France team time trial in stage 2


Jumbo-Visma stormed to victory on the Tour de France team time-trial on Sunday with Mike Teunissen keeping the yellow jersey after the 27.6km second stage around Brussels.

Teunissen maintained his overnight lead when his team beat Geraint Thomas’ Ineos by an impressive 20 seconds, with the next five teams all grouped within a handful of seconds.

Ineos were the first group down the ramp on Sunday and set a pulsating time for the others to chase, holding onto their lead until Jumbo, last off the blocks, smashed 20 seconds off the British team’s time just when it appeared that Gianni Moscon would take the yellow jersey.

Instead, Saturday’s surprise winner not only keeps his overnight lead, but moves further clear of his rivals from other teams.

“It was a pretty decent time,” a breathless defending champion Geraint Thomas said at the finish line at the giant Brussels Atomium.

“I was pretty sore hitting the barriers yesterday, so the good news (is) I’m totally fine.”

Those looking for signs this will be an open and competitive Tour de France, will see the minimal time differences between the main contenders as a sign of how tight it is.

Before the race leaves Belgium on Monday, Thomas and Bernal gained 12 seconds on Pinot, 16 seconds on Nibali, and 21 seconds on Adam Yates and Fuglsang. They opened more significant gaps with Nairo Quintana (45 seconds) and Romain Bardet, the day’s big loser who conceded 59 seconds.

Tour de France 2019 – stage 2 results (Brussels – Brussels TTT):



2Team Ineos




4Team Sunweb




6EF Education First
















14Dimension Data


15Lotto Soudal


16UAE Team Emirates






19AG2R La Mondiale


20Total Direct Energie



Tour de France 2019 – general classification after stage 2:

1Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma)


2Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma)


3Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)


4Tony Martin (Jumbo-Visma)


5George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


6Gianni Moscon (Team Ineos)


7Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)


8Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos)


9Dylan van Baarle (Team Ineos)


10Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


11Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


12Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


13Enric Mas (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


14Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


15Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


16Rick Zabel (Katusha-Alpecin)


17Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin)


18Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


19Lennard Kämna (Team Sunweb)


20Mads Würtz Schmidt (Katusha-Alpecin)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here