Jakob Fugslang seals overall victory in Andalucia as Trentin takes final stage

Jakob Fuglsang wins Vuelta a Andalucia 2019

Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) won the Vuelta a Andalucia on Sunday as Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) took the victory in the fifth and final stage.

Fuglsang retained the leader’s jersey he had claimed in Granada on Saturday and finishing seven seconds ahead of his team-mate Ion Izagirre and 11 in front of Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma) in the general classification.

Trentin won the final stage as he was comfortably the quickest in the uphill sprint in Alhaurín de la Torre, springing clear inside the final few hundred metres. Enrique Sanz (Euskadi-Murias) and Carlos Barbero (Movistar) crossed the finish line in the second and third position, respectively.

“I’m super happy,” said Fugslang. “My teammates did a lot of work today from the beginning because we really didn’t want to let this one slip away.

“Bahrain-Merida helped us control the break of the day, along with Movistar, and as predicted it ended in a sprint. But it was very tough with the crosswind.”

Vuelta a Andalucia 2019 – stage 5 results (Otura – Alhaurín de la Torre):

1 Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)


2 Enrique Sanz (Euskadi-Murias)


3 Carlos Barbero (Movistar)


4 Tosh Van Der Sande (Lotto Soudal)


5 Colin Joyce (Rally)


6 Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida)


7 Juan Jose Lobato (Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane)


8 Lars Boom (Roompot-Charles)


9 Eduard Prades (Movistar)


10 Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)



Vuelta a Andalucia 2019 – final general classification:

1 Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


2 Ion Izagirre (Astana)


3 Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)


4 Pello Bilbao (Astana)


5 Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


6 Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


7 Sergio Higuita (Fundación Euskadi)


8 Aleksandr Vlasov (Gazprom–Rusvelo)


9 Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


10 Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here