Groenewegen edges to victory on seventh stage of Tour de France


Dylan Groenewegen edged an ultra-tight bunch sprint on stage seven of the Tour de France on Friday as Giulio Ciccone retained the overall race lead.

Groenewegen beat Caleb Ewan in a photo-finish to make up for the pain of falling on stage one on the Brussels home straight. He was left sat on his backside in Brussels when he had been red-hot favourite to win.

“The first day wasn’t what I expected but now I’m back on top,” said the Jumbo-Visma man.

Groenewegen was asked if he was the best pure sprinter in the world, but he refused to be drawn.

The 26-year-old is being compared to Mark Cavendish, who won 30 stages of the Tour de France in his prime.

Peter Sagan retained the sprinters’ points green jersey after finishing third.

“I stayed on Groenewegen’s wheel, but then I switched to Elia Viviani’s, wrong move, they shot past us,” said Sagan.

Saturday’s stage features seven categorised climbs where home fans will be baying for Julian Alaphilippe to try and regain the overall lead.

Alaphilippe was cheered for two days after taking the lead at Epernay, but agonisingly lost it by six seconds to Ciccone at La Planche des Belles Filles on Thursday.

“Tomorrow will be a very hard stage, I’ll need to have a very good day to keep the yellow jersey,” Ciccone said.

Tour de France 2019 – stage 7 results (Belfort – Chalon-sur-Saône):

1Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma)


2Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)


3Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida)


5Jasper Philipsen (UAE Team Emirates)


6Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


7Giacomo Nizzolo (Dimension Data)


8Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


9Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


10Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates)


11Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal)


12André Greipel (Arkea Samsic)


13Andrea Pasqualon (Wanty-Gobert)


14Mads Würtz Schmidt (Katusha-Alpecin)


15Maximiliano Richeze (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


16Rick Zabel (Katusha-Alpecin)


17Ivan Garcia (Bahrain-Merida)


18Niccolò Bonifazio (Total Direct Energie)


19Jan Tratnik (Bahrain-Merida)


20Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)



Tour de France 2019 – general classification after stage 7:

1Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo)


2Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


3Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida)


4George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


5Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos)


6Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)


7Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


8Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)


9Michael Woods (EF Education First)


10Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First)


11Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


12Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


13Enric Mas (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


14Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


15Xandro Meurisse (Wanty-Gobert)


16Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


17Mikel Landa (Movistar)


18Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


19David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


20Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here