Gorka Izagirre wins Tour de la Provence after dramatic final stage

Gorka Izagirre wins Tour de la Provence 2019

With less than one second advantage in the general classification, Gorka Izagirre (Astana) has won Tour de la Provence today.

It was a close call after Simon Clarke finished second behind stage winner John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) and gained extra bonification seconds. But it was not enough for the Australian rider to overtake Gorka Izagirre in the GC.

“The first victory is always very important and it’s good when it comes as early as in the second race of the season,” said Degenkolb. “I’m very happy. We did a strong race as a team in the last four stages. We were already second yesterday [with Tom Skujins] and today we take the win, not only me but the whole team. It’s a fantastic victory that motivates me for the next races.”

“I’m very happy, very very happy,” said Izagirre. “It’s been a very demanding and stressful finale but we made it. Mission accomplished. It’s a very big victory. I’m normally a team worker. I’m glad I got confidence from the team to ride for myself.”


Tour de la Provence 2019 – stage 4 results (Avignon – Aix-en-Provence):

1 John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo)


2 Simon Clarke (EF Education First)


3 Anthony Maldonado (St Michel-Auber 93)


4 Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale)


5 Damien Touze (Cofidis)


6 Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


7 Benjamin Thomas (Groupama-FDJ)


8 Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9 Warren Barguil (Arkea Samsic)


10 August Jensen (Israel Cycling Academy)


Tour de la Provence 2019 – final general classification:

1 Gorka Izagirre (Astana)


2 Simon Clarke (EF Education First)


3 Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale)


4 Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


5 Rudy Molard (Groupama-FDJ)


6 David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


7 Eddie Dunbar (Team Sky)


8 Eduard Prades (Movistar)


9 Jimmy Janssens (Corendon-Circus)


10 Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here