Gilbert wins Driedaagse De Panne as Durbridge takes final stage

Philippe Gilbert

Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott) took a narrow victory on the final stage of the Three Days of de Panne with a time of 17:38, just three quarters of a second ahead of Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie).

Victorious on the tough opening stage, which included a double ascension of the famed Muur van Geraardsbergen, Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) extended his lead on the following day in the echelons, before capping off his impressive week with a composed display in the individual time trial.

“In a time trial is always a question of remaining focused before and during the race. Before rolling down the ramp, I got news of Marcel’s result and this gave me extra motivation to do well. I was always in control while being out on the course and securing the victory here makes me very happy”, said Philippe Gilbert.

“Last year, Quick-Step Floors and Patrick Lefevere put their trust in me and I’m glad to bring home this victory and repay them for the confidence showed. Also, I must thank my teammates, because they kept me safe and rode their hearts out to make sure I’ll win this race”, continued Gilbert after claiming his seventh career stage race. “I think it was the right choice to prepare Ronde van Vlaanderen here and I’m really satisfied with how I felt and with the outcome. I’m motivated for Sunday and I look forward to this beautiful race. Hopefully, it will turn out to be another good one for our team.”

Three Days of De Panne 2017 – stage 3b results (De Panne ITT):

1 Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott)


2 Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie)


3 Alexander Kristoff (Katusha-Alpecin)


4 Marcel Kittel (Quick-Step Floors)


5 Matthias Brandle (Trek-Segafredo)


6 Alexander Edmondson (Orica-Scott)


7 Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


8 Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin)


9 Peter Koning (Aqua Blue Sport)


10 Olivier Pardini (WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect)



Final general classification:

1 Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


2 Matthias Brandle (Trek-Segafredo)


3 Alexander Kristoff (Katusha-Alpecin)


4 Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie)


5 Pierre Luc Perichon (Fortuneo-Vital Concept)


6 Maxime Vantomme (WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect)


7 Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo)


8 Pim Lightart (Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij)


9 Boy Van Poppel (Trek-Segafredo)


10 Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here