Froome roars into Giro d’Italia lead with stunning stage 19 win as Yates blows up

Chris Froome wins stage 19 giro d'italia 2018

Chris Froome produced an astonishing lone attack to roar into the overall lead at the Giro d’Italia on Friday, winning stage 19 with a performance that will go down in cycling folklore.

The Team Sky rider started the 185-kilometre ride from Venaria Reale to Bardonecchia in fourth place in the general classification, but launched a devastating attack with 80km to go up the Colle delle Finestre to storm to a famous victory.

Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), who started the day three minutes 22 seconds ahead of Froome, ended the stage with his Giro hopes in tatters after blowing up.

Tom Dumoulin, the defending champion who had begun the day in second place, nearly three minutes ahead of Froome, was left trying to minimize the damage to the Briton on the final climb.

He finished fifth on the stage, three minutes and 22 seconds behind Froome who also took time bonuses.

Four-times Tour de France winner Froome is now perfectly poised to win the one Grand Tour missing from his collection headed into the final two days of racing.

“I don’t think I’ve ever attacked 80 kilometres from the finish, riding on my own and going all the way to the finish,” Froome said. “I knew there was a long way to go but to win this Giro d’Italia I had to do something extraordinary. I couldn’t wait for the last climb. I had to do something crazy.

“Colle delle Finestre was the perfect place to do it. Gravel roads remind me of Africa,” added Froome.

Giro d’Italia 2018 – stage 19 results (Venaria Reale – Bardonecchia):

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


3Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


4Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


5Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


6Sébastien Reichenbach (Groupama-FDJ)


7Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


9Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


10Pello Bilbao (Astana)


11Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


12George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo)


13Alexandre Geniez (AG2R La Mondiale)


14Sergio Henao (Team Sky)


15Wout Poels (Team Sky)


16Ben Hermans (Israel Cycling Academy)


17Gianluca Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo)


18Rohan Dennis (BMC)


19Jose Goncalves (Katusha-Alpecin)


20Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo)



General classification after stage 19:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


3Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


4Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


5Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


6Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


7Pello Bilbao (Astana)


8Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


9George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo)


10Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


11Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


12Alexandre Geniez (AG2R La Mondiale)


13Rohan Dennis (BMC)


14Wout Poels (Team Sky)


15Sergio Henao (Team Sky)


16Jose Goncalves (Katusha-Alpecin)


17Sébastien Reichenbach (Groupama-FDJ)


18Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


19Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


20Georg Preidler (Groupama-FDJ)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here