Filippo Ganna claims stage 6 time trial at Binck Bank Tour


Filippo Ganna (Team Ineos) was the fastest in the Binck Bank Tour’s 8.4km time trial around Den Haag, beating his compatriot Edoardo Affini (Mitchelton-Scott) by five seconds.

Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) was 20 seconds behind Ganna but despite finishing 10th, he was able to extend his lead over Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb) to eight seconds. Third on the podium before the final stage is Laurens de Plus (Jumbo-Visma).

“It was my first victory in the Italian national jersey and I was very happy with my performance and my time, too,” Ganna said. “I’m feeling better after a small crash two days ago and I feel better, luckily I didn’t do too much damage.

“I really wanted this win. It’s great it happened. I saved energy in the last few days and so was fresh today. The wind wasn’t too strong and so I was able to produce my best ride.”

The Binck Bank Tour finishes on Sunday with a 178.1km stage from Sint-Pieters-Leeuw to Geraardsbergen that takes on the iconic Muur van Geraardsbergen.

Binck Bank Tour 2019 – stage 6 results (Den Haag – Den Haag ITT):

1Filippo Ganna (Team Ineos)


2Edoardo Affini (Mitchelton-Scott)


3Jos van Emden (Jumbo-Visma)


4Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ)


5Harry Tanfield (Katusha-Alpecin)


6Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


7Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo)


8Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


9Laurens De Plus (Jumbo-Visma)


10Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


Binck Bank Tour 2019 – general classification after stage 6:

1Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


2Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb)


3Laurens De Plus (Jumbo-Visma)


4Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ)


5Ivan Garcia (Bahrain-Merida)


6Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma)


7Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


8Fabio Felline (Trek-Segafredo)


9Michael Valgren (Dimension Data)


10Greg Van Avermaet (CCC)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here